30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Moving right along

Lately my life seems to be returning to me piece by piece.

On Sunday I took a Les Mills Class.   Bodyflow.  Les Mills is an interesting concept.  It’s a set of classes that change every 90 days.  I’ve done the Body Pump before and that class is fantastic.  I was less excited by Body Flow.  It’s low impact and not too difficult actually. That said there was a Yoga portion of the class that I found quite challenging.  My back doesn’t allow for such things.  I did the class with a friend and it was nice to see her again.

lesmills-bodyflow-300x300

I also think I am not totally fond of group fitness.  I feel like we are all trying and also all comparing.

After that I hit the pool for some laps.  It was a super nice day.  The swimming was enjoyable.

Monday Was pretty great. I actually went to the pool in the morning, and swim a short workout.  That made my day go better overall, so I need to try to keep doing that.

In the evening, I ran again.  2.0 miles slowly on the Treadmill. The GYM is FULL to the breaking point.  I do not remember it ever being that crowded.  We’ll see how long it lasts.  I continue my stupid need to tell the world I am injured, not a January-ist.  After the TM, I did a modified shorter workout, about 7 instead of the 10-12 exercises I normally am doing these days.  I wasn’t feeling super strong and I had some pain issues, so after a second set of step ups. 0904-step-ups

I quit and went to ice my back.  I wanted to talk to the coach too because it had been SO long since I had. I said hi to him and he gave me kind of an awkward smile.  I wasn’t sure about it, so I iced, contemplated what that smile meant…. You know the whole “What did he mean when she/he said, looked at me like that/etc

article_21016_615x0_proportion

When I finished I decided to just ask about wether massage was an option at this point.  I asked if I could ask a question and he looked tense.  But then I said, do you think I can get a massage?  And he relaxed, he had about a 30 minute conversation, all the while he was working with a delightful lady who I enjoyed meeting as well.   He doesn’t want to start me on a training plan yet (ha ha ha) because I can barely run and technically I am still having surgery.  But of course we both agreed that this healing even not at 100% is a freaking miracle.

Maybe the Catholic Church would not certify it as a miracle…but I know that the surgeons were thinking this looked surgical, and yet I have improved….

Today… I got my massage… not so sure that was the brightest idea.

I also managed a 25 minute cycle on the stationary.  Still moving forwards as best I can…

Leave a Reply

