30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Saturday

I wake up each day feeling like I am at least 75 years older than I am.

I really regret that today because the night before I wanted to do Lucky’s Lake swim.  I tried to get into my wet suit, but it really either didn’t fit anymore (which would be odd) or because of the injury to my spine, i am not longer able to pull it on without risking reinjuring.  SO discouraged by the wet suit lack, and my aches and pains I decided to sit on the couch and have coffee.  Later I learned the water temp was pretty good, and I regretted it yet again.

Very_Hungover_Caterpillar_Pages-1_499x324-990x500

I had an appointment to go look at homes today and so that then took up a lot of my time.  I am just amazed at the HOA fees.  The home itself is affordable, but the HOA fees, are kind of insane.

Anyway after reflection on the massive HOA fees, I went to the gym.

I RAN.  1.7 miles.  It was pretty nice.  Very very slow and I had some problems on the last 10th…my body is weak and my HR goes crazy with running, I also for whatever reason, drank a lot of coffee today….

I really enjoyed it.

After I was able to do a little strength session.  I am always surrounded by these fit people and feel so just flabby and out of shape.  It is January, and well, everyone assumes I am a Resolutioner.  That this is the year I finally “get in shape”  gym-new-years

I know I should not care what others think, but indeed, I do care. I take every opportunity to tell anyone who will listen that I’m hurt, injured, and recovering.  Funny thing though, it does make a difference.  I’ve had some buff guys look at me like I was in their way, when they overhear me tell someone, “Yes I’m improving from my injury”  they give me this look of respect.  Kind of crazy.

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised at some of the improvements I could see in my workout.

I also hit the pool for 1200 meter.

This evening I have this idea that the rubber band sensation around the toes.

TOE_exercise_4

is reduced some more.  We will see…

We will see.

I do want to email the coach immediately, but…for whatever reason I’m playing it cool.  He is new baby life full.  I saw him on Friday watching me working out.  He left before I was done and didn’t come over to say hi, so I felt a little “left out in the cold”  even though more likely he just wanted to get home to the baby.  Stopping to talk to someone can take a long time (I love to chat).  I think I’ll talk to him when I have some definite news.  I miss him, and I miss training.  But I am encouraged daily. I think this long delay for surgery that really pissed me off may actually be a huge blessing in allowing me to avoid the surgery…  Who knows.

2 Comments

  1. I don’t like that some of the people working out in the gym are giving you the stink-eye because you’re not able to work out as hard as you used to. It is really difficult to go back and work out after you’ve been hurt. I’m still unable to do karate because the kicking and jumping aggravate the back muscles that I injured earlier last year. Some of the black belts however think I’ve “chickened out” even after I told them about my back. Martial arts has this tradition of “sucking it up” when a student is in pain, and I understand why: but the lack of understanding puts me off and makes me not want to go back, even when I’m feeling good.

    Good luck on the househunting! I have friends who bought a lovely condo in a senior community, but they sold it after just three years. They said the HOA fees drained their bank account faster than they could fill it, plus the HOA board drove them crazy with their arbitrary decisions. My friends, who love to garden, were told they couldn’t plant certain bushes or use certain mulches in their front “yard” because the exterior of the building had to look uniform. Then they painted the building an ugly mud color after my friends protested. So you’re right to think about this before jumping in.

  2. Thanks HG! I would agree with your idea to avoid all those kicks and such until the back is healed. It is funny how people view others. People just don’t know how much pain or life struggle can be involved in an injury and for those of us who live alone…it can be a real problem. One thing I’ve discovered is that it’s very hard to quantify pain. I have this amazing short term memory for it. I found myself feeling quite down in the dumps about the injury, and what I’m able to do now…. I had to do a stop check and remind myself of the 30-40 days spent essentially planning every movement, and mostly laying flat.

    Yeah. The HOA. Thing is everywhere in Fl has an HOA. Everywhere. I just don’t really know what to do about it, and it is also possible the dues are a bit high right now because they are building and don’t have all the homes in place and occupied. It is a nice area for Florida. We lack any nice gentrified neighborhoods that are trendy and chic, firstly because all the stuff that was initially build has since rotted in the humidity, and secondly, we are a newly developed area, all of this used to be groves of fruit.

Leave a Reply

