30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Injection Day

Ok so, I keep thinking “Training Day”

Injection day was not near as Epic as the film training day.

I decided against the sedation because of how I needed to pay for this.  The Pain guy doesn’t take my insurance and is doing this as a favor to my coach right.

It started out well.

I called to discuss a payment plan and was told what he was going to charge.  It seemed ridiculously low.

I was relieved and very happy about that.  The price was very affordable.

So admittedly it wasn’t like  $50.00 but again I was injected using fluoroscopy, by an anesthesiologist, using expensive medications.  So, I was pleasantly surprised at the price.

I got to the pain place with 2 of my friends for “support”  They were the best kind of support… One has a 6 months old infant who is very personable, so the entire waiting room actually seemed to relax when he rolled in with his smiles and gurgles.

Happy-Baby-10-Ways-Make-Babies-Laugh

They must have been backed up today.

It took a long time to get me back to the room.

Once back there, I discovered that my Radiology tech friend from the hospital has taken a job working over there.  We were always good friends so seeing him brightened my day. Some.

Then they led me into the treatment area. I started to get kind of freaked out.  I wished I had opted for sedation…

My hands actually began to get super sweaty…and I noted my breathing was a tiny bit more rapid.

http://www.spine-health.com/video/epidural-steroid-injections-back-pain-and-leg-pain-video

The MD injected some numbing medication and I felt an immense amount of pressure in my back area.

He then proceeded to try a second injection during which time I felt the need to  Not move, but SCREAM a loud “ouch”

The Doctor Jumped. I actually sensed it.  Oops.

Apparently it was a scream heard all the way to the recovery room.

oops.

Doctor admitted, “Well, I admit you actually surprised me so much you made me jump”

OOPS.

I don’t think the MD is really used to having awake patients because he actually made several comments like,

“I don’t like the way that looks at all…”  which you know patients don’t like to hear.

I was actually uncharacteristically silent when he said these things. The Tech did some side shots and I continued to concentrate on breathing…

6a00d8341c652b53ef019b00836dfc970c-800wi

I assumed I’d feel him pull the large cannula out and replace it.  But after a few moments, he said, Oh I like it now…and even said, “Funny I didn’t move it but looking at this time round, it looks better”

Again…kind of an unusual statement, but I just lay there.  He then injected all sorts of medicine. I continued with my horrible sweaty hands and funky deep breathing. I said “Ouch” quietly a few more times.  The MD and the Tech agreed that I was like most typical nurses…bad patients.

Even though I said ouch one thing reassured me…I could actually feel the medication irritating the nerve from my buttock to my foot, so I was about 200% sure he was in the right spot.

The MD I think felt a little bad after because he kind of tried to rub my shoulders…as I apologized,  for my untoward scream…He is a nice man and I know he was surprised…as was I.

I felt pretty good right after…due to all the lidocaine, a numbing agent.  But I was forewarned that the lidocaine would wear off.  It did as I attempted to walk the dog.  I actually was a bit frustrated because that was not easier.

BUt one hopeful sign…I just noted that my foot…which has been miserably cold for weeks is now feeling decidedly HOT…. increased bloodflow?  One can only hope.  I can definitely more more freely now…but my favorite position remains flat on the back…tomorrow I will attend Orientation which will require some standing and a lot of sitting.

We will see in the next few days.

South lake Pain Institute.   On my Christmas Cookie list.  Even if the injection doesn’t quite work as promised…

They tried and were pleasant about it.

3 Comments

  1. I hope you’re feeling better today. But yeah, ouch. I don’t think I could have held still for something like that. When I got a cortisone injection in my left shoulder, it was all I could to not scream, it hurt so much. I don’t like shots in general—I’ve been putting off my flu shot just because I hate that feeling of getting poked—so what you went through would have been huge to me.

    You mentioned you were starting your new job this week. I hope it goes well and the injection worked!

  2. SUrprisingly, it is getting better daily. I am a fan of the epidural which was miserable, but now that I have seen some results, I am a little more willing to go through with it, that and the fact that the Doctor didn’t paralyze me either. I still have a lot of pain, but I am finding that so far my tolerance is pretty good, and I’m able to do more daily.
    New job has been wonderful…it really makes my heart happy, they are in a bit of disarray as well, but such is life.

Trackbacks

  1. Life’s Little Updates | Mizunogirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

