30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Taper week one: will I find speed?

This taper week is amusing.

I got an email stating…

“This week is a little different”

Being-Different

When I looked at it, I had the usual reaction to taper.  A little bit of GLEE, and a bit of confusion…thinking, Gee, why is this so little, does he not think I can do it?

I realized it’s getting kind of close to Lighthouse Loop Half Marathon. I thought, OH…this could be the start of a TAPER.

So on Monday I did the workout.  simple little 1500 swim.

Of course, it was the cold front.  Pool is outdoors.  It was 55 degrees.  Pool is heated, but not in October (too hot), Pool also not covered overnight.

SO Darn it all 2719_what_is_the_purpose_of_goosebumps

Goosebumps!  Whee!  It was a cold cold swim, but it got done.

Tuesday I had a 3 mile tempo and some weights.  I had a massive day at work, so the 3 miler was done in the morning and the weights in the PM.  I also indulged in the super heated physical therapy  hot pack.  Talked for a while with my coach.  I finally plucked up the courage to ask very quietly,  “am I actually on a taper?”  He paused for a second, and then said, Yes, you are.  We discussed the odd emotions brought up by taper.

While I always think my tapers with him are too long, I’m taking this one.  I have horrible employment challenges right now with changing jobs in the middle of our Ebola panic.  So I need to work on that.

I’m also waiting for speed to return.

I now seem to have very fine endurance…I did 5 easy miles today.  No problem on all the graded hills.  But I could not get my legs to pick up to the speed I would have expected. I’ve been off on speed since my minor injury in July.  I am delighted that my endurance has really improved, but the lack of the speed has me mystified.

Let’s hope I find some before the race…otherwise, it will be an odd one.

Leave a Reply

