30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

New experiences day.

Today I had on the schedule a 5K.  It’s a race I love.

I didn’t do it.

I had to practice with my open water relay team the Kayak thing.

We are doing this awesome swim.

As a relay, which means after about 2 miles each we have to get into the kayak from the water and paddle…

So we needed to practice.

10612578_10203853469393773_6763793462391012804_n

We met at Lucky’s Beautiful Lake.  Did some swimming and some practicing.

10676122_10204752466040611_8003218450879828183_n-1

I actually stink at Kayaking, having never been on a kayak before.  Luckily some members of our team are EXTREMELY low key, which balances out the errr higher strung peoples on the team.  I eventually got the hang of not being the leader and being the paddle helper.   Being the leader will not be my role we decided.

Kayaking does work the shoulders…intensely.

It was a lovely day.

I then went home and rested.  I admit I had not slept well the night before.  I had a lot of stuff running through my mind.

I finally at about 3 pm got it together to go to the gym.  I ran the 3 miles for the 5K on the treadmill.  Fall has not arrived in Florida.  someone posted a picture of a temp of 103 today.

Major coach miscommunication.  We have talked and talked all week.  I even asked him for a hug, which he can count on the fingers of one hand…10603541_950421561651589_2861440957810505285_n

He really helped my life this week, but he has not kept up real well with emails.  SO…

Grrrrr.

the 3 miler was challenging…turns out that crab chips, and ice cream don’t fuel runs well.

I essentially ran slow 800 repeats because I wanted to be done, but couldn’t quite sustain the whole way so I’d run a half a mile walk about one tenth and then run another half mile at a faster than normal pace.  Kind of strange.

Kinda looking forward to next week.   Maybe by the end of the week, I will have a new job, new situation and I am going to the Florida Keys, so AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

