30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Could it be?could it be?

That my legs have recovered from the torture I gave them recently.

Seriously all that travel kind of screwed things up.  I really wonder exactly how Professional runners and other athletes deal with all the jet lag of travel before the big meets in Dubai etc.  I did not deal well with it at all.

Today I had a cycle followed by a run.  This is one of my favorite workouts.  We tease that I should have a stationary parked in front of a start line for a race so I can get a cycle warm up.

The cycle was as cycles have been lately, Ok, but not interesting.  I need new cycle music.  In addition, I was already feeling kind of grumpy from work situations.  Stationary cycle has a way of dredging up thoughts.

The run after was kind of a relief.  My legs felt pretty good and I decided to try to run steady and push a little more than I did the day before.  I have been running SLOW and seeing others times had me a bit concerned.

The first mile started out “OK”  but by about the half point, i saw that I was on pace for what I wanted.  I pushed through the hill at the half way point and was rewarded by the down hill.  Of course what goes down…in C-town, comes back up again.  So I started on the next hill and the next, hit the turn around and went down and up yet again.  Pace remained good.  I felt like I was working but not “Killing myself”.

My little 3 miler ended up being one of the faster runs I’ve had in weeks.  maybe months.  What a relief.

Let’s see what happens tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

