30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Recovery Miles.

Wow.  So Sunday I did my ever so slow 12 miler and then spent the rest of the day kind of recovering.  I woke up a few times in the night and found moving about to be challenging.

I knew I had 2 measly miles on the schedule.  I debated doing them in the pool…doing them on an elliptical, walking them…trying the treadmill.  Anything.

In the end, I decided that they were on the schedule and I should try them.

So. I started.  Admit I was humiliated because I knew I was slow, AND there were a lot of high school swimmers leaving the gym for school.  So they were all witnessing this sort of “jog/hobble/jog” situation.  I felt like a crippled elderly elephant.

47c6d8bc769321976175555c5797-grande-1

Gratuitous picture of elephant sculpture in Singapore Zoo….

I kept running anyway. The route I chose goes immediately down hill which was really quite jarring.  I thought, “Ok I’m getting along ok down the hill, but there is this uphill.”  It’s a rolling route.  The uphill did slow me down but I made it to the next descent.  By the end of that, I was moving more like a runner, and less like an arthritis sufferrer.  I turned round and proceeded to keep running…amazingly to the entire end of the run.  And as many of you would predict.  After the run, my legs felt slightly improved.  I KNOW this happens and I KNOW thats why I do recovery runs.  Oddly before them, anything but running always seems like the “Smarter move”

Saw the coach briefly last night and he kind of rolled his eyes and said, “Well, imagine that”  I tried to negotiate some increases in my workouts this week, but got no where, so it looks to be a light week…

Leave a Reply

