30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Little bit of unpleasantness

So, I was feeling pretty calm about the turn of events this week.  My hip/quad area has been feeling miserable.

Today I finally just had had enough of pool running and chlorine, and darn it all, I thought my hip was improved, so I ran 4 miles.  The run itself went essentially well.  I hit all the hills.  It was slow, but it was also extremely warm and humid I mean when it is 81 degrees at 6 am…

humid-300x200

Well.  Throughout the day, the hip and quadriceps just made my life difficult.  Walking was a hassle, and painful.  I had to really think about this stuff.

This afternoon I did my swim, but got thundered and lightning-ed out.  I only missed 400 meters of 2500 so I don’t feel too bad about that.

The thing that made me feel a bit sad was that all of a sudden I remembered That last week when I started the big build, my coach had wanted to see how I handled the volume.  I realized that I had not done well at handling the week.

Failed Stamp Showing Reject Or Failure

I said to coach, “So I guess I didn’t handle the volume that well”  and he looked at me and said, No…No you didn’t…. We will of course build back up and try again, but darn it, I wanted to WIN.

This is a great time to mess things up, and I admit.  I am not at all unhappy to not have to run in the nasty nasty summer weather.  We agreed to try to have a sit down discussion next week.  Something is just not quite right with the training…hopefully we can fix it.

 

Leave a Reply

