30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Last Rest day….

This was my last rest day.  I almost totally bagged the workout.  Something I don’t think I’ve ever done.

It was a 1500 swim.  This is a short workout.  20 mins tops.  So why on earth would I bag this one?

Well…. Our nice pool was closed this weekend for a HUGE swim meet.  Several people get really upset when this happens, but they forget the pool rental really helps out the gym, and the influx of these sports teams really helps out economy.  So I bear it with pretty good nature. I think it occurs about 2-3 times a year.

So, because of the pool closure, I knew I had to head to Lucky’s Lake.

Screen-Shot-2014-03-16-at-11.29.21-AM

No problem with the lake, but the swim is at 7:45 am and I awoke at 6:20.  With some hemming and hawing I finally made it out of bed threw on some swimming attire and headed out.  Made it in time. Really nice people out there today.  lucky has added green caps for newbies as well as the floatation devices.  We had a ton of newbies today OR just a lot of people who wore green caps.  I swam better this week than in the past though it still seemed to take FOREVER for me to get across the second time round….

Had a good swim actually and then headed home.  Discovered I had left my actual running shoes at the gym so went to recover them and had a nice chat with the Cindy’s (front desk and the cleaner).

Rest of the day…I’ve been doing a bit like taper week… this hurts, that hurts…nothing feels quite right….

But I do think I am ready for a build again.

We’ll see.  I know when I see the workouts, they will be looking like an ass kicking…

But  given how icky work is, I do love having something else to concentrate on.

Leave a Reply

