30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Weary Wednesday

Wow.  So I woke up this morning, totally exhausted.  I can always tell when training is wearing on me.  I start getting to the gym later and later and then I have about a total of 8 minutes to shower and go to work.  Today was the latest I have even been, so bordering on the ridiculous.

I had a short swim (1500 yards about 60 laps, or 30 depending on how you count laps.) and a 3 mile run.

Pool- like the temperature was incredibly chilly.  Being late has it’s perks. Instead of whining, I just pushed myself in. I whined to myself, privately in my head.  I have a time trial on Friday for the swim, so I kind of did one today to see where I might be.  I am indeed a tiny bit slower than last year.  not sure why, but I’d love for the coach to know it and work with that.

When I hopped out, the last thing I wanted to do was run.

However…

tumblr_lya7unxq3U1r1wk8mo1_500

So I brushed my teeth and kind of thought about this:

training quote

This is where a lot of people give up- when things are not interesting or magical or anything, I’m kind of beyond that, so I just put on my shoes, felt a world of tiredness and started running.  I was kind of under pressure because I really didn’t have enough time, but I decided just to run easy and try to not stop at my turnaround point.  I have a habit of stopping and walking the turnaround…it is encouraged as the turn around is at the top of a tough hill.  I managed to keep running through that, so yay goal achieved.  I also noted with some surprise that despite the fact that I could possibly have laid down in the grass and fallen asleep immediately, my mile splits were not terrible.  It was very nice to see.  One thing that is hard for me still is pacing, so when I start to drop time, I tend to feel like, WOW why is this run so hard!  Then I look down at my watch and see that I’m actually running way faster than I think I am and voila, no wonder the effort is different.  Still learning to know the pace.

So I am pretty pleased with this, though I am planning on bed early tonight. If I make it through Thursday..I will just have the time trial, a brick and a longer run…Praying that the weather holds.

We’ll see.   One thing I am glad of…that things are so habitual otherwise I’d have ditched this one for sure, and it turned out to be pretty good training.

 

Leave a Reply

