30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

It continues…

I had a bit of a bad feeling about Speed work today.

I wanted to do it, but…like everything this week, I got out of the house a little late.  I slept OK.  I’m not really recovered from the lack of sleep. I saw the coach of tuesday and he reminded me that I need more sleep.  Once you get a little bit sleep deprived, even if research doesn’t completely back me up, I think it takes a few nights of normal to great sleep to make up for it.

So I got to the gym, ran some warm up miles outdoors. Hit the treadmill and took the first interval too fast. I really wanted to see some improvement so I chose that speed.  I could not finish the interval.  Literally I was 0.15 from being done when I stopped.  I walked a bit and dialed it up again at the speed I was using last week.  I was able to do 3 intervals at that speed with no issues.  Not comfortable, but the point is to be uncomfortable.  On the 4th one, I again failed.  This time though, I decided I was done.  I was entirely miserable. But being reasonable, I have failed on an interval workout in the past and it is not the end of the world.  Especially in May…when I am focusing on a race in late December.

I left the coach man/boy know and asked if I should repeat the intervals this afternoon.

Predictably he said, Nope, don’t make up missed workouts.  nothing else.

Had a very unpleasant day at work.  I don’t exactly know why, it actually wasn’t that bad.  But I am feeling the fog…

ArthurDove_Fog-Horns

Arthur G. Dove, Fog Horns, 1929, oil on canvas. Collection of the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center. Anonymous Gift, FA 1954.1©The Estate of Arthur G. Dove, courtesy of Terry Dintenfass, Inc.
I’m trying not to be self indulgent, but at the same time, I’m trying to give myself a bit of kindness.
This afternoon, I got in a fairly solid arms and abs workout.  This is encouraging.  Hopeful for the future.
Leave a Reply

