30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Speed Thursday

Today was a speed workout.

I swear I am so busy with work and trying to get ready for the certification exam.  (Lately I am not studying, I am just kind of thinking about signing up…so I need to sign up and focus).  I am kind of doing the workouts and forgetting about them until the next one comes up.  It’s kind of the way I am approaching everything.  Mostly, I have been getting home late and I’ve been super duper tired. I am sure that the vacation threw me off, but it was needed in a variety of ways.

It’s been a lot of:

sleep-eat-work

Thursday’s intervals went pretty well.  I was surprised at how well they went.  I suspect that I did not up the speed quite as much as I should have because I was running between 4:30 and 4:45 intervals. They were also kind of comfortable- as in I didn’t get the “I can’t go on” sensation until about the last 10th of a mile.  In the past I have a history of running 4:08-4:17.  Still, they were challenging me and I was having the wretching sensation after most of them, so…I took it.  Effort is where it is at, not time.

Interval for 8 hours of work, in which I received numerous phone calls from the CEO…and also dealt with the ever changing regulations of CMS validation templates.    I got the pleasure of dealing with our Infectious Disease Physician, who is just an ass, so that also brightened my day.

We did have a funny funny moment in the office where we all just wanted to be done with work.  I looked over at my secretary and she said, “I want to go home!”  and I said without even thinking about how strange it sounded, “I wanna go to the gym!”  She gave me the hairy eyeball.

72851_180691245388021_1688734123_n

I did an arms/abs workout and ran an extra mile on the TM.

Then I bit the bullet and asked the coach if I could go swim Lucky’s Lake this weekend.  I knew that he would say yes- he generally does to Lucky’s.  We chatted for a bit.  I just have been feeling the need to be close to him lately, for whatever reason I am feeling clingy, so instead of actually clinging, I’ve been focused on avoidance, so I am not irritating… ha ha ha!  What I realized after our discussion is that I really do need to talk to him for a more extended period, when he isn’t at work.  He has a plan for me that is completely developed in his head.  I’m not really aware of what it is or “how it’s going to work.”  This could be ok, or not.  Currently I feel as if I am kind of blindly doing the workouts without any real understanding about what’s going to happen next.  He seemed ok with that, but I am not so sure I am ok with it.  I think too..I just miss him.  He is a great great coach for me because he knows how to build me up without coddling me. So, maybe next week I can get something together.

 

Leave a Reply

