30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Pleasant Surprise Monday

I woke up on Sunday feeling a bit rough.  Lack of sleep, illness, the long drive and racing had taken a toll.  I made it out to the trail for some running but after about 3 minutes of running I knew that my heart and head was not into the run.  So I quit. I drove to the gym and cycled for 30 mins as the plan said, and then ran 1 more treadmill mile.

It was the right thing to do.  My coach didn’t even bat an eyelash.

Today I got up..and because mondays involve massage, I had to do my workout at the crack of dawn.  It was the dreaded Swim/run/Swim/Run workout.  Used to be a terrific tuesday workout.  But all I could think of was how tired I felt and how much this was going to hurt.

Making to the gym a little later than planned (Even after getting up a little earlier…) I hit the pool quickly.  This is kind of a longer workout and with so many transitions, it gets longer.  I swam and let many thoughts float by.

head-with-thoughts-floating-out

 

The swim was fine as swims usually are.  What I was really dreading was the run.  I threw on my shirt and shorts and shoes and ran through the locker room to the front door…Once outside- with limited time, I started to jog immediately.

I felt slow, but nothing hurt or bothered like the other day.  Big bonus…the sun was just starting to peek over the horizon…So gorgeous!

Through my run I continued to be amazed that I was able to run…each time I hit a difficult uphill spot, I kept thinking “OK self, here’s the part where things could get ugly.”  Things…never really got too ugly.

I finished off the first run and hopped back into the pool.

ARMS…felt just like lead.

Still by the end of the swim, all parts seemed to be working.  I proceeded to second run and again was filled with dread, thinking..”Now you’ve gone and tired yourself out..it’s gonna be bad.”  While it felt a little bad in the beginning as I chugged up the hill at the half mile point, I found that like the first run, things were going pretty well.

So totally WON the workout.  Feel AWESOME!

 

Leave a Reply

