30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Wacky Wednesday

Today was not really my day in training…

I had poor sleep again last night.  I’m not sure what is going on  but the lack of sleep thing is getting to me.  It’s kind of a never ending cycle.  I don’t seep well one night, then the next night I get all ready to sleep and then I am so ANXIOUS about getting enough sleep that the anxiety prevents it…and thus…

cant-awake-sleepBut I was still hopeful for my Tempo run.

I like the Tempo run so I got out of bed, and made my way to the gym.

Strangely while the rest of the country is in a polar vortex…Florida is unseasonably warm.  It was 72 in the dark and about 80-90% humidity.  It felt like May.  I took off, and ran “comfortably hard”  It went ok, but I kind of struggled.  I was going too fast to sustain after a mile, so I ended up walking a 0.02 mile here and there.  The time overall in the end wasn’t fantastic, but looking at it I knew it was acceptable.

I was dripping with sweat.

Sweating

 

One of the other ladies looked at me and laughed and said, “Wow you look beat.”

Sooo…I of course got ready for the money generating part of my day.

Had an extended day at work, long end of day meeting.

Headed back to the gym for a cycle.. and a bit of weights.  I really really need to do more weights.

 

3 Comments

  1. That cartoon sums up my nights too, except that I’m trying to read and can’t stay awake. I finally give up, shut off the light and slip under the covers. Sure enough, after a half hour, I realize I’m not going to fall asleep. It irritates the heck out of me, but besides taking a sleeping aid, I don’t know what else to do.

    Hope you’re hurting less at night at least.

    • For certain last nights lack of sleep had to do with big meeting anxiety or angst. no pain. There are a lot of tips on the internet to help with sleep…I’ve found some helpful, but not always helpful…

  2. I often wake around 2 or 3am and then can’t get back to sleep. The harder I try the more stressful it becomes; it just seems impossible to relax myself back to sleep. And it doesn’t matter what time I go to bed – I’ve tried tricking myself by going to bed at 10 or 11 and I still wake at 2 or 3 and then I’m just a mess going off to work!

Leave a Reply

