30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Brick brick baby brick…

As always…Saturday apparently is a brick.  I seem to always have a brick.  I kinda like bricks.

this morning though, under a dense fog advisory, all I really wanted to do was stay in bed.

il_fullxfull_50479311Yeah, about the stay in bed thing.  I was in bed super early anyway on Friday and I was wide awake at 4 am… So I fiddled around and eventually got up, walked the beast, and had a coffee.   (Side note, new Costa Rican beans must have been roasted perfectly, YUM!)

I made it to the gym and hit the cycle.  It was hard for me.  My glutes are super duper sore.  Again I just didn’t want to do this.  A lot of training is mental and not wanting to do something and doing it anyway is sometimes successful, sometimes not.  Today I give the bike effort a B+  Passable, but not really a stellar effort.

When I climbed off the bike, I felt super duper stiff, and a bit spent.  Our weather here has been this slate gray, fog for days now on end.  We are used to sunshine, and more sunshine. So that, along with my recent loss of Grandma, left me feeling a little funky.

I decided not to worry about time on the run and just to get out and do it as well as I could.  The distance was increased from last week by only half a mile but that half mile seemed like so much more.  So, off I went.  Funny thing about no expectations, is that they kind of morph as a run goes along.  At about half a mile in I decided to try to keep all miles at my goal marathon pace.  Amazingly it worked really well and I finished off the run faster per mile than I anticipated.  I feel encouraged.  I might actually recover from all those major setbacks.  I keep wanting to talk to my coach…but…he apparently is diving this weekend~ which makes me nervous as all get out since it’s kind of a dangerous thing the way he does it.  ]

So far this week I’ve noted that my times are dropping down to times I had before the injury, and possibly slightly faster, which may be due to the “rest” I got while injured.  I am cautiously optimistic that this is the beginning AGAIN of some good running.  At the very least, it is starting to be fun again…

sunrise-blue-clog

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

