30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Friday

Cold Wet….not too fun.

 

noname-1This is the pool at the end of my swim.  In the beginning it was too dark to take a photo.  The weather today was rotten.  The temperature was not impressive at about 48, but the gloom, the cold rain plopping down and the cutting wind really took a toll.

The swim went fairly well.  It was a long one.  I did get bored and lose count at one point, so I suspect I may have swam more than the 1.7 I intended to.  Or less, I suppose.  But in general once you spend that time out there, that is what counts.

Once I got inside, I knew I still had a one mile run on the schedule.  Usually I just pull on shorts and run it from the pool straight, but it was so wet, I had to leave my Garmin inside.  Once inside, I started to have my asthmatic cough.  I bagged the brave idea of running in that outdoors and did the one miler on the treadmill.  I saw my coach from afar, but I don’t think he saw me.  at least if he did, our eyes did not connect. He, like me, is a southerner and was all bundled up in a coat and long pants etc.   I thought about chatting with him, and then just decided to go home and study….

Overall, I was pleased with the one mile run.  Tomorrow looks like more fun if the weather will cooperate.  Yes, it’s far nicer than say Wisconsin, but…this is not Wisconsin, and there is a reason we all live here!

 

 

Leave a Reply

