30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Wednesday Fun.

And the Fun theme continues.  Thank goodness.  I don’t think I’m set up yet for a grinder of a week.

Today the gym is closed.

I woke to chilly, wet weather, and a raging headache.  I’m a wee bit annoyed about the headache.  I had no alcohol last night or anything, it just came on.  Gonna have to cut back on the caffeine.

All that was on the plan was 3 miles running. Even though the temperature was a balmy 57, there was a wind and fogginess that just made the damp chill feel very cold.  This painting captures the mood.

775px-Alfred_Sisley_-_Fog,_Voisins_-_Google_Art_Project

(Art of Alfred Sisley 1874, now in Musee d’ Orsay)

For whatever reason I really wanted to run my regular route from the gym, so I actually drove to the closed gym, parked, and ran from there. I really wasn’t feeling 100%.  The damp chill, the headache…the fact that it is a new year and my training has been rather screwed.

I started running and within a few feet I was surprised.  My legs were working.

I ran 1.5 miles and then turned around with a small walk break.  (I find it’s easier when I turn around directly to just kind of walk for a second or two…do you know what I mean?)

I then trotted up and down the small hill to complete mile 2.  Mile 3 was a bit of a doozy.  It contains “hospital hill”  which I recently realized really isn’t much of a hill.  Anyway I made it back to the gym with a pace that was about 5 seconds per mile faster than I had hoped for.  The best part of the run wasn’t the time.  It was the feeling in general.  My breathing was better- less labored during the entire run…and my legs felt better.  I had thoughts of stopping and walking at several spots, but I shook them off and realized that they were habitual spots to walk, so my mind was telling my body- “Oh we’re gonna walk here”  So I reprogrammed the mind to , “Oh no…no need to walk, everything feels fine”

I know, these boys are from deep in appalachia, but I’m from there.  (Coach made so much fun of me this week for saying the word Hail…as in ice pellets from the sky.  I say Hay-ell, which is what I think everyone says, but guess not.  He’s also from Appalachia so I don’t see what the deal is, but I think he thinks its funny…whatever!)

So this was a fairly good start for 2014.  I’m cautiously optimistic.  Working on a lot for this year, and starting out at least slightly solid.

This afternoon’s plans…looking at Bikes online, and planning out a race schedule.  I’m thinking one Marathon in 2014 (I missed much of the 2014 racing season.)  and several halves. leading up to an early 2015 marathon.  We’ll see though.

 

 

Leave a Reply

