30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Discernable Progress

Finally.

I woke today feeling good.  I had to be at work early (The ICU was getting a state award for reducing CLABSI so yay us, yay infection prevention.)  Why on earth they needed to do this at 7:30 in the morning I will never know.  BUT…this allowed me to come into work a wee bit early, so I can leave work a wee bit early tomorrow.

We FINALLY had the temps drop out of the mid to high 80’s this afternoon.  It was 70 when I hit the pool and the pool was probably about 81.  So the swim went along well.  For the first time since the back strain, I did flip turns with no issues. I struggled with being a bit bored in the pool.  I think I mostly am now out of the training habit and I was wanting to see my coach.  So after 1200 yards I got out into the frozen North. It was breezy and cold.  No longer 70.  More like low 60’s  in a wet swim suit with a breeze. It felt a bit like Christmas.

Snowy Christmas Eve Night

 

After I got dressed I went out to the fitness floor to get on the cycle and hand my coach a “Bananas Foster” Lara Bar.  I have discovered he is kind of a human garbage can.  Anything I do not want to eat, I give to him.  Being allergic to bananas, the Lara bar was ridiculous to even be in my bag.  He thanked me and looked a bit anxious.  I could tell he had a patient coming, and that he was thinking about using the Estim  on me AND that he had a few things to say but didn’t have time to talk- this always seems to make him nervous, like he thinks he is rejecting me by not having time right then… I stopped his anxiety and said, “I’m going to get on the bike now” and abruptly walked off.

Cycled for 45 mins fairly hard at about a 16.5 MPH pace.  Broke a sweat.  enjoyed a “Sounds of the Season” station from I HEART RADIO.

It really wasn’t too bad.

Got off the cycle, and saw that Coach was still with SUper VIP client, so I did a plank, and some cat stretches…YOGA-CAT-STRETCH-1

Then I just went HOME.  I was thinking about meeting up with the coach again, but I decided that well, we have seen an awful lot of each other.  My back felt OK with the E-Stim, so I decided to just give it a night.  If it gets crazy overnight, He can treat it on Friday.  He really Always does want to know how I am, but we have both had heavy doses of each other all week, so it’s time for me to kind of cut the knot a bit.  I am almost completely healed, so…time to get used to our regular routine of waving nodding and emailing.  Admittedly even when I was on the E-stim daily I pretty much set myself up, said thanks, and “too much stim!”  and that was about it.  But still it was a lot of being in each others faces.

I’m thinking if I feel this good tomorrow, I may try for an actual RUN.  we’ll see.

 

2 Comments

  1. So that’s where all the heat went! If we ever get temperatures in the 60s again, I’ll never complain about feeling cold. 😀

    I’m glad you’re feeling better, but take it easy and don’t re-injure yourself. I know how it feels to be getting over an injury and wanting to go back to your routine, but I feel like I rushed into gong back to karate class too soon. I was wheezing and coughing at the end of class, and I don’t think anyone appreciated it, least of all Sensei.

    • Oh lady it is ALL in Florida. I have been actually using AC! I’m sorry about all your coughing. Feel better!

Leave a Reply

