30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Thanksgiving.

So… I had a moment in Church this week.

I sometimes attend church on Saturdays with a friend of mine. The church is right behind my house so it’s convenient.

I’m not 100% thrilled with the service.  It’s a bit of a “Mega Church”

mega-church-2But  many of my friends attend.  I also think it’s good to be open to all types of worship.  It surely isn’t an austere Quaker meeting.  I do miss sitting in anticipation of God.

Anyway.  Right before the main message, the youth pastor came out.  He talked a bit about thanksgiving, and how some people are really feeling full of thanks and just glad for everything.  He than aknowledged that there are indeed people that might not be feeling all that thankful… I thought that was great.  Everyone has some difficult seasons in life.  I imagine the young widow that I know of is not really feeling full of thanks, having just lost her husband 4 weeks ago.  And that is OK…

We had a few moments of quiet before the lights and music display.

In that quiet I did center myself, and discovered my kernel of truth.  I…..need to be thankful for EVERYTHING.

This includes my miserable problems of health and adductor strain.

“In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials, so that the tested genuineness of your faith–more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire–may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.” 1 Peter 1:6-7

 “More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” Romans 5:3-5

Why is this?  Well Biblically, we are told to suffer and rejoice in it.  Not really an easy task. In the past, I have not really been able to achieve this.  The BEST I’ve been able to do in the past was to say something like:

“Thanks God for this, I trust that you know what you are doing, and I pray it will heal soon”  (I pray a lot about injury…lol.)

Job on dungheap

This year I’ve suddenly felt a bit like Job.  A bit.  It seemed as I got over one thing, another thing occurred….I admit when the pastor said, “Some of you may not be feeling that thankful, I was like, OH YEAH SIGN ME UP FOR THE UNGRATEFUL TRAIN.

But then I started to think…. “Why not thank God for this suffering”   I realized that in not being thankful for my little injury, I wasn’t trusting God to provide and do what’s best.  It totally turned this injury on it’s head.  Nope, my injury isn’t healed.  My adductor still hurts. I’m still spending HOURS in the pool.   But I feel entirely settled in it.  I have no clue how this will all play out, but I trust God.

Even if you don’t trust God…

Here’s one thing to think about.

How many stories have people told you that sound like this:

“I failed out of Med school, and it looked like the end, but when I went to the Career center, I met my future husband….I would have never met him if I had not failed.”

“I dropped my phone in the toilet, and it was bad, but I found out when I went to get a replacement, I found out because my phone was so old, i got a new fancy one.”

“I had to miss a school field trip because I was sick, but I ended up seeing an interesting TV show and discovered that I was really interested in XYZ as a career”

How many have we heard..

“I did everything exactly as I planned, and it all worked out perfectly.”

Yeah…

thought so.

So, yep Choosing thankfulness.

2 Comments

  1. I’m not a fan of the mega-church with video screens and a full band on the “stage” (sanctuary? chancel?), but then I’m partial to the classic Episcopalian service and music in a Gothic church. Each to her own, I guess. I had some very nice friends who loved their mega-church and once invited me to sit in on one of the services. It was too ‘glam’ for my tastes, with lots of colored lights, electric guitars and keyboard, and the minister with a wireless mike. When I glanced over at my friends however, they looked happy and content. So I sat and listened to a pretty good sermon (it was also about suffering and faith) and afterwards we went out to brunch. I had a good time, even though it wasn’t for me.

    I have thought about this Thanksgiving and what I had to be thankful for. A bitter little voice inside said, “Not much!” But I thought about my kids and my grandson, and my new home, and starting a new life: suddenly, it didn’t seem so bad. So many people have it worst. Thanks for writing this. I hope your hip feels a lot better!

Trackbacks

  1. Update on injury and training. | 30 weeks of Marathon training.

Leave a Reply

