30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Hunk of Hunk of burning legs.

burning_runner_72-300x300Today I resumed my normal training.  I am really regretting my choice to do the pool workout.  My calves are KILLING me.  They feel like the last training cycle, when I did a lot of pool work.  Just burning and burning.  I had trouble sleeping last night because they hurt terribly.  So I took motrin and did some extra hydration in case hydration was the issue.  This morning they still feel really awful.

I did a spin for 1 hour and 20 minutes.  During this time I was planted in front of Fox News. SO Inflammatory and it seems some of the “facts” they were presenting were incorrect, but oh well.

After this I laced up and went for a run.  Actually truth is I went to lace up, discovered I had brought 2 left shoes to the gym…

leahloudanielbig-682x1024

 

Happily the problem was easily solved as I found 2 right shoes in the car.  I then ran 6 miles.  It was SO hot and I felt quite drained, plus you know, my calves felt like burning hunks of meat.  It was a fairly slow sixer, but given the HEAT and my recent strain…I just took it.

I believe I shall now take an ice bath and lets all hope that fixes the calf issue.  I have a race in 8 days!!!! I do not want to run it on burning calves.

 

1 Comment

  1. LOL! I once brought two left shoes to work: in Minnesota, it’s common in the winter to come to work in heavy snow boots, then change into footwear more suitable for the office. I normally wore casual slip-ons or lace-up oxfords at work, but one day we had a formal meeting and I had to wear dress shoes for a presentation. I had at the time two pairs of black dress pumps, which I rarely wore and which sat in the closet all the time. In my rush to get out of the house, I must have grabbed one shoe from each pair, because when I opened my totebag, I saw the two black left shoes inside. Luckily, I had a pair of brown shoes in the car. They didn’t match and in fact looked awful with my black suit. Nobody said anything to me about it however. When I got out of the meeting, I ran back to my office and changed into sneakers, which were still wrong with the suit,but far more comfortable.

    Good luck with the race if I don’t catch your post about the day. You’ll probably do a lot better than you think you will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

