30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Speedy Friday

So rolled out of bed on Friday feeling really really concerned about the track workout.

I have had a mental issue with the track workout since March.

I was so freaked out by it last week that when it showed up on the plan, I took it to the treadmill.

The TM workout went well, but it was very slow.  When I told Mr. Coach about it…well, he looked less pleased.

So Janice met me and we did a 2 mile warm up.  She was wearing her Garmin and actually paced my warm up to a much slower pace than normal.  it was, a lot easier, and I was warmed up when we wound our way down to the track.

By this time, I was a ball of dread and anxiety.  I knew I had to try the workout.  I felt that there was no way to be successful, but I knew I had to do it anyway.

So Janice stated that she would run behind me at an 11 mm pace- which was close to the warm up.  She said she had a theory about how fast I was going to be.

I started to run…Track

I ran the first 400 without a peek at the watch, and continued til the second curve, and then peeked at the watch…I was no where near an 11 mm pace.  I smiled, and pushed further.  When I finished, Janice came up behind me with cheers for good work.  I just looked at her and said, “Well that was a fast 11mm.”  She mentioned something about having to speed up for me after the last turn…Hmmm.

We walked the break…and chatted.  I was not thrilled when I approached the run spot…but I hit “go”  and went.  And went and went…. It was faster than the last.

The third was a bit tough.  I did the first lap OK , but on the second lap, I had “issues”  Was very very happy to see my walk break….I was starting to feel the workout now, as I was now feeling like I’d like to vomit.  Janice did not help by saying “If you need to throw up, go ahead and throw up…”  THing is every time I heard the word Throw Up….welll. I came reeeeeeeaaaaaaaly close to it.

We walked and then I had to start the last one…by the second lap, I was miserable.  I had enough air to actually say, “I have to quit, I can’t do this”  Janice cheered me through it.  I am amazed I finished it at all. When I finished the 4th one…I was feeling as is expected.  HORRIBLE.  Awful.  Miserable.

Fatigue_Opener

 

I bent over, just like this guy, and tried desperately to catch my breath.  I actually made a few crying noises thinking about how miserable I felt.  I still had a mile left.  OH man… luckily, Janice reigned that one in looking at the time, and we took that recovery mile as the walk up the big hill back to the gym, so we were both ON time for work too.

As I recovered, of course the memory of the misery faded through out the day.  Replaced by great happiness that I had conquered the track workout.

I did of course send a triumphant email off to Mr. Coach.

So I just wanted to tell you that my 800s this morning DID NOT SUCK!!!!!

He replied with his usual coachiness saying Fantastic, of course you can do it!

So we’ll see.  THings are looking good, but I have weeks and Miles to go before Jacksonville Bank Proving ground…

 

Leave a Reply

