30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

This week in recap

Oh wow, this week was not exactly that fun.

I did not own this week.

The week owned me.

It was a really difficult training week.  ALL my workouts increased in length.  I mean ALL.

My swim workouts increased in yardage- some by an extra 1000.

My running increased by quite a load.  If I had managed to Do Exactly what the coach had wanted I would have topped off at about 35 miles.  SInce last week was 29…it was kind of a jump.

In a lot of ways, I’m annoyed by the week, but in some ways I am also ok with it.  It showed me where I’m at for now.  In addition, I really did not enjoy the heat and humidity of the summer.  I have not really trained thorough summer much here.  In 2011, I had surgery and hung out in the pool all summer 2012….I kind of played around at running most of the summer.

So when I set out for 13 miles in 75 degree heat and 100% humidity…I had no idea…that I would struggle so much with such a regular distance.

Florian1I felt like this.  My water pack was super full and very heavy.  I set out, and noted my legs felt kind of sore/tired.  Not injured, but just kind of flat.  Sometimes this happens and then things smooth out so I just kept going.  By Mile 3-4 I was feeling super flat, and really HOT.  my shirt was SOAKED.  I could actually wring out drops of sweat from it.  And this was definitely not the desert.

I considered turning around, but didn’t like the idea of 8 miles instead of 13.  So I shouldered my way through the 6.5 and turned around.  I actually went off the trail for  few minutes at 6.5 and almost got lost.  Kind of a bad sign when the trail is in the middle of an urban area.

when I hit mile 7 I was feeling slightly better until I realized I still had 6 to go.

I did eventually finish up.  Sat down at the trail head and just observed.  Everyone else was a cyclist, and they all looked Hot, and tired as well.

I spent most of the rest of Sunday laying about on the couch, commenting on people’s FB statuses, and in general trying to recover.  I went to bed around 7 pm.

This morning I feel somewhat recovered mentally….IN that I took care of almost all of Sundays tasks at 4 am when I got up.  I rented a car of next weekend’s event, I walked the dog, emptied the mailbox, refilled my Singulair script, folded socks, did dishes.

In my clearer mind today I realize it had nothing t do with distance and a lot to do with temperature.  For whatever reason I really got over heated.

Worst part about this..I have 90 days left of this type of temperatures.

images-1

 

This type of training is really good for building endurance, but O.M.G.  this week and next are kind of taper-y cut back weeks.  Normally I would protest, but in this case, I am embracing it!

 

Leave a Reply

