30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Marathon Training Day 68, 69, 70, 71, 72

Oh My how time has flown.  I have been at a conference in Ohio and was too tired to post.  Once i got over being tired, I was in misery and shock over the Boston Marathon situation.  Breaks my heart.

So this will be a short catch up post about the STUFF I have done.

 

Friday, Day 68.  I ran 17 miles.  it was HOT, Humid.  I was pretty much alone, but it went fairly well. I then cycled for an hour and then went and attempted to work for 3.5 hours, during which time all i wanted to do was eat or sleep.  yes.

Saturday Day 69 I flew out to Columbus Ohio at 5:45 am.  got to the hotel at 1:00 pm.  After reuniting with my conference roommate and getting caught up, I eventually made it to the hotel gym…I was actually terrifically disappointed in the Hyatt Regency’s Gym.  It was cramped, and HOT.  They did have nice towels to use, but unlike the J.W. Marriott, there was no fresh fruit, no nice locker room, etc.  The pool, similar to the J.W.  was the size of a napkin.

I Cycled for an hour.  then I did a little pool running.

Sunday Day 70:  I did a speed workout at the Hyatt Regency Gym.  I have not done speed work on the treadmill and it was actually a blast.  I set a speed that was slightly slower than my normal track work out and was able to hold it.  4 1/2 mile repeats and a mile Warm and cool.  It was probably the best workout of the out of town ones.

Monday:  Boston Marathon Day.  saw me doing 45 mins treading water in the pool, or the Puddle as it really was.  I did it amidst texts from friends letting me know the status of folks we knew who were running.  I knew more people than I thought.  I was so so so so upset, I admit that I totally blocked it.  It wasn’t until today that I started to just cry and cry.

Tuesday:  Last day of conference, I did not get up early enough to run, but I had loads of help from a conference attendee to get it done post conference.  I was supposed to do 3 miles, but ended up with 2.05.  I was cutting it really close to get to the airport and I admit my left leg/ankle is acting odd again.  I do not think it likes the treadmill.  Or something.

Tomorrow I am supposed to do a tempo run. We’ll see, as I get home at midnight tonight and have a very important meeting tomorrow.

I am really saddened and completely confused about the events in Boston, so I am going to reserve any commentary on this tragic event.  I am just shocked.  Maybe by tomorrow or the next day I will have something to say.  I have an inexplicable desire to go and hug my coach, a Boston runner from years ago.420796_317363698392466_353081230_n

I hope he’d understand….

 

Leave a Reply

