30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Marathon training Day 67

LOL.  I was typing this and thinking, “Oh I am getting behind on my charting”  It would be that way, as I am always going to be a nurse.

Anyway.  MTD 67 was a one hour swim. It was a GLORIOUS day.

maymaymay032The water was COLD, the air was HOT.  I didn’t swim too fast, but I got it done.  I got off work and was in the pool by 2 pm.

When I got out I had one of those “red letter moments”

Nina Kraft was in the locker room.  (who is Nina Kraft?  Well, just one of the most badass cool triathletes I’ve ever met.  not only that but she is genuine, and kind and very down to earth. )  This is not that unusual.  She lives and trains here.  I said hi and asked how she was, told her I was fine.  She said, “You say you’re fine but you really aren’t are you?”  I told her I’m a little worried about Bayshore Marathon.

Lately I feel a bit MUSHY.  Like a packet of those fake biscuits.

images-1Then I said, you know it doesn’t matter.  I’m not sponsored or anything, I’m not going to win, so why I was so concerned….I dunno.

She grinned at me, and said, “You look good.  Before you didn’t, really you were having some issues, but now you will be fine”.

Then she gave me some post race encouragement and I thanked her.  She is someone I really admire, so any little piece of information from her is golden.

After the swim I went to do some weights.  My coach sent me an email, and then he walked by saying, “Finish your set and come talk to me in the other room”  So I did that.  We had a really nice chat, and ironed out some Marathon plans for the summer.  URGH, I am going to be working hard.  I mentioned what she had said.  he grinned from ear to ear and gave me a high five.  Told me to “write that in your journal, or stick it on the wall”.  I recognize it’s a compliment to him as well.  I asked AGAIN about a taper for Glass City.  He said, “Well, you haven’t been doing this as long as I have, no taper for you”  Then he laughed and said, “Of course you get a taper”  BUT…I have yet to see a plan past Sunday so who knows.

So I was feeling pretty great that day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

