30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Marathon Training Day 58

on the plan was a 20 minute cycle and a one mile run.

I nixed the one mile run.

The night before, I found myself waking up every 2-3 hours, and going back to sleep almost immediately…which is kind of one of the signs of overtraining.  It more likely is a sign of JOB STRESS!

I have a lot of projects going on at work right now and people keep heaping more and more on.  Yesterday I was up on the third floor essentially crawling around on the floor putting tape down for This Project.  I am paged overhead, and summoned to the CEO’s office.  This doesn’t happen much, or translate ever.  So I sort of put on the serious face and headed there quick.  He wanted more data.  Not a problem, except it just about killed me to be sure the calculation was correct.  So there went my day.

After, I had a Massage.  I Screamed my head off, as my left calf is sore and tight and miserable.  My Massage Therapist got a little frustrated and told me she couldn’t figure out why my calves are as tight as the sprinters calves.  I think it was the 18 miles.  It was so bad she said she might have to make some time for me on Saturday.  I of course will pay for it, so I think she may just have an open spot and want a paying client, but either way.. the leg is starting to repair itself after she dug into it.

After that I finally made it to the gym and did a 30 minute cycle.  Because it was shortened, I put the resistance up a notch and found it was really hard, but…

Ride-Your-Outdoor-Bike-Inside

 

Given that it lasted only 30 minutes, it felt pretty OK when I finished.

I had dinner with my friend Lisa, another runner, and we enjoyed chatting with each other.  Since I am single and likely to remain so, having a friend to share a meal with once a week has been a super blessing.

Last night I slept better, only woke up once.   When I checked my pulse it was down from a wild 70 yesterday to a more normal 61.  Regular regular for me is 52-54, and that is where it needs to go to for me to really feel good.

My head is starting to clear and I am starting to feel good.

This rest week was a good idea.

Leave a Reply

