30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Marathon Training Day 54…

Wow,  this was a total fail.

800 meter repeats were on the schedule.

When I woke up, I really wanted to go back to sleep.  I regretted agreeing to meet J. at the track.  But…what can one do…I had agreed.  She is funny about running in the dark, and likes to have a buddy for safety, so I definitely wanted to meet up with her.

I ran my first 2 miles warm up alone and around the training complex.  It didn’t feel good.  It was slow, and I had a variety of issues.  I can not explain it, but it just did not feel good.

Got down to the track…and settled in and ran one 800.

For whatever reason the track was SO COLD this morning.  Up at the top of the hill the temperature was about 46.  As I descended down the hill to the track the temperature kept dropping and dropping.

I felt ok after the first 800, and walked the rest lap.  While finishing up my walk I saw J’s car pull in.  I started repeat numober two and abruptly quit.  I just did not have it in me.  J. met me and I ran her warm up with her.  We talked about Overtraining “syndrome”  and where I was at.  I then laid down on the thingy used for pole vaulting while she ran her 800’s.  I stared up at the stars and cried a little.  I just can not win at this workout.  After a bit I got too cold and got up and ran one more mile with Janice.  And quit.

I sent an email to my coach, but really I know I’m overtrained.

I’m consistently tired.

I’m consistently missing this one workout.  This week, I missed BOTH speed workouts.

I’m a little grumpy and it’s kind of hard for me to determine what is happening to grumpy-ize me.

I’m feeling foggy most of the time.

So…the cure for all this is rest.

Not sure exactly how much or How to do it.  The worst part of this is that I have this idea that if I can just get in one really solid workout, It will re-energize me, but…really that won’t…

I still really want to swim Luckys Lake tomorrow, but we’ll see.  My friend J. may not be willing to indulge me after my crash and burn today.  If not I’ll do a bit of a swim in the pool or a spin.  Nothing major.

Then I will still try to run the 18 big miles….

Funny I don’t think the miles are a problem.

Resting now.  The fact that I can crawl into bed at 6 pm without compunction, should really be a “here’s your sign moment”

 

 

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Weekly Wrap up! | 30 weeks of Marathon training.

    Leave a Reply

