30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Marathon Training Day 19

Friday.

Well.  I was delighted it was Friday because of course I do not work on Saturdays or Sundays.  BUt  Since we started the Marathon training, I have been approaching Friday with a bit of Dread.  THe YASSO 800’s workout.

track-photo-300x217I’ve had some real challenges in the past weeks with this workout.  It continues to challenge me.  Today was better though.  I do not know why.  I warmed up by running 1.5 miles not on the track, just out in the neighborhood.  I then made my way down to the track, where I was dismayed to see a group of fit looking athletes all huddled around a coach.  It was some sort of Triathlete training camp (not sure if these are real athletes or wanna bes).  They all looked super fit.  I felt a little bit embarrassed because I knew I’d be running slow and doing the walking in between intervals.  I talked briefly with their coach so I could be out of their way and groaned a little about the 800’s.  He commisserated a bit and I admit, I wanted to make sure he knew I was doing 800’s not just running out of steam every half mile.  Kind of silly, as if he cared.

So I started out, nervous as Heck, thinking this could not possibly work.  I found staying on the far outside of the track was a lot better than being on the inner.  Reason being is that I was never quite sure when the 800 mark would come up, so I did not have landmarks to mentally defeat me.  (What, I’m only at the little american flag pole?)  Anyway.  The first one went pretty smoothly, and I was shocked at how well I felt on the walk and recovered I felt.  My initial plan was to slow down the intervals and take them at a more “comfortably hard” pace, rather than the “Bat out of hell”  pace I had been attempting.  Strangely, the pace when I checked was the same as last week’s Bat out of Hell pace, but I felt less vomity.

Yasso number 2 was also pretty darn good.  I was several seconds faster and still felt pretty good.  Yasoo Three was even faster, but on the second half of the half mile, I started to feel my legs fatiguing.

Yasso 4:  ok, but not as good.

Yasso 5:  Definitely not good.  got a bit dizzy and my hands felt funny.  My coach thinks I may have been holding my breath..

Because of the funny feeling on round 5, I quit right there, did a cool down run and cycle and thats it for the day.

I was Lucky to have conversation with my coach.  He answered a lot of my questions that we failed to get to the other day, and he was in a super good mood, as was I so it was easy to enjoy each other’s company.  He really helped me move on from some lingering questions and get a bit more focused on the NOW.  He and I are both calling that speed workout a win.  It predicted a 4:19 marathon for me.  IF, I had been able to run 5 more.  Now, I do not think I can run a 4:19.  But Skeletor said, “Don’t sell yourself short”  I’m not sold on the Yasso are a predictor, but, it will be interesting to see what happens when I hit Bayshore.

FOr me this was a Super training day.

 

Leave a Reply

