30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Falling in Love

With RUNNING.

Yeah, I imagine you my loyal 7 readers were excited to see that I was falling in love, but…Sorry, no Wedding bells here.  I really probably am doomed to singledom forever.  Not that bad, not that great, but it’s a very safe way to be.

But RUNNING.

I did my track workout last night.  I hated it.  My entire being hated it.  I took the dog.  He loved it.

I ran my little sprints, and finished off and was so done.  I was disappointed in how my warm up went and how my things ached.

In the middle of the night, it dawned on me that those Compression shorts are really for recovery.  So, I got out of bed and slid them on.  I wore them under my “business casual” dress today for at least 4-6 hours.  By the time I freed myself from their grasp, things felt better.

Today was Monday.  Last Monday I had the Earth attacking me feeling as I was supposed to run 3.  This week, I was supposed to run 3.5 at a conversational pace.

Well, that was what I intended.  I started out nicely.  This is an old old route, the first one I ran in this town.  I kind of had a funny feeling about it though.  As I was running it, I was remembering times when I was not doing very well with nutrition and just getting up some of the hills was a challenge.  These days, nutrition is a challenge, but not insurmountable.  I blasted the hills with no issues…and came back to the gym with my fastest run in 4 weeks, all while occasionally muttering a word or two, or singing breathlessly…

It was still warm out, but for some reason this run felt great.  I have been very frustrated with my running in the last month or two, and suddenly today it was like the walls came down, and there was running again….just waiting for me…

 

I am registered for the Old Reliable 10K and the OUC half… if things stay like this, wow, I’m going to have a fabulous year.

 

Leave a Reply

