30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

FLu shot Thursday…

I did the flu shot on Thursday.

I totally recommend the flu vaccination for anyone who is a health care worker, or who works with children or the elderly.  I believe it works pretty well…

And I have to get it, I’m the Infection Preventionist where I work, so if I chose not to, it would really reflect badly on me.

We had started up early bird vaccination this week, and it’s been going well.  I was kind of putting it off because, like 99% of people, I am not thrilled with needles!

THen on Tuesday my surveillance system exploded with Flu cases.  We had a really mild flu season last year, but it kind of only quit in our county in July and August and now that school is back in session, we are seeing a lot.  So I thought to myself, “Self, you have an opportunity to get the vaccine early, got get it”

A few years back I was a non-believer.  That was in 2009.  I’d had a few really not great experiences with the flu vaccination and had given it up.  Then Bam.  Swine flu year.  I got Flu A, and was out of work for a week.  Then after I had been back at work about 3 days, I came down sick again, the verdict, Flu B.  Out of work again.  then 4-5 day after I recovered from that, SICK AGAIN. I had the Swine flu.  I missed almost a month of running because I was sick sick sick.  I could barely function.

SO after that in 2010, I revisited the flu shot.  I did not get the flu and was able to run my Marathon as scheduled.  in 2011, I was a convert and got the vaccine again, and look ma, no flu for me.

So I got it.

then I went and did a training session at the gym.

Today I woke up feeling a little sore all over, not sure if it was the work out of the vaccine!  Decided to just take a rest day from running and get in the pool after work.  I’m going to meet with my new coach to give him my desired races this year today and whoo hooo because I have Overtime, I get to leave early today!

May be able to long run on Saturday instead of Sunday and get back on track.

Have you had your flu vaccination?  Don’t let the flu interfere with your training!

 

 

Leave a Reply

