30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Extra rest day.

I have been having a lot more pain/injury in the last 2-3 weeks.  I finally got in to see my Massage therapist for a good massage. Sometimes I think she takes me for granted and gives me a not so great one.

But this one, on Saturday really helped me, and because of it I was able to run my 9 on Sunday. Of course, my Monday, i was doing the robot walk….

 

I was not QUITE that bad, but you get the point.

I did a 20 min cycle, and a mini strength workout yesterday.

I then walked the dog, had some dinner and went to bed, wrapped up in Compression.

I woke up at midnight and took motrin.  First clue that I was not feeling great.

When I woke this morning, i felt good, in bed.  When my feet hit the floor, my calf…still horrible.

I walked the dog and I could see my shadow from the street lights, limping along.

So I decided to not bother to run today.  If I can not walk normally, it seems that a 3 mile run will not advance me that much to the Goal of the Tallahassee Marathon.    In fact, I would think that continuing to pound on my hurting calf will eventually set me back.

Most of the time, we think, Just get through the run, and then it will be better.

I did want to get through my Long run, as I think not missing long runs is important.  it is time on your feet, and practice for the longer race,  but 3 miles?  Meh.

Going to continue with the compression, Ice and rest today and see Massage this afternoon.

Maybe by tomorrow…maybe.

Leave a Reply

