30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Ugh speed work

I did not do too well with my speedwork.

I was to do 7×400 intervals.

My hip was really painful this morning.  I took some Ibuprofen at 0700 ish and decided to wear compression all day.

By the end of the day..my hip felt fine.  normal.

So I figured, OK,  speed intervals.

I did 1 at a pace faster than my fastest 5K pace.

Felt a little strange.  As in this was going to be hard…

Second interval, I did at the same pace, and I felt ALOT strange.

During the recovery, I made a decision to slow it down by 0.10…on the next one.

the next two intervals I ended up running for about 0.15-0.20  rather than the full 400..

I then took a bit longer with recovery, and had better success with the next 2.  No problems at the slower speed.

Well, except that my hip…started to assert itself.

I finished up with 2 more intervals of 0.20  and then one of 0.25.

It felt pretty bad.

I foam rolled after, but the hip is still tight.

There is a bright spot in this day.

I saw my Physical Therapist.  I complained to him about my speed problem.  (Not this work out the slowing of the speed in general).  He had a lot of suggestions…and then asked me to write everything down on paper and bring it to him.  He is such a good good person.  So Thats what I’ll do.  I probably won’t see him on Friday.  But on Monday, I’ll get some great feedback from an ultra runner.

Not so sure whats going to happen with my Long run.  Firstly, my hip is jacked…  secondly… we have that big storm coming.

Worse comes to worse, I can do it on the treadmill….but my gracious.

Leave a Reply

