30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Long run Done. oomph.

Well  it got done.

I was on my way out the door to meet my much faster pal for this run when she texted me to tell me that she was not coming.  I still had to go of course, so no big deal.  In fact, I was a little relieved.  She really is a lot faster, and I wasn’t sure how that was going to work out.

I figured it would surely lighten up around 6, as it was 5:45 I thought no big deal…Get out there.  There were some cars already at the trail head.  They all looked like runner/cycler cars so I was not that worried.

When I started though, I really noted how dark it was.  I could not see at all.  It made me feel a little nervous, and a little fearful that something may be right around the corner.

Funny thing, the sun never seemed to rise, but somewhere around mile 4 it was finally light enough fro me to see my Garmin. I was thrown off a bit due to this.  At mile 1.4 or so, I heard a HUGE rustling in the bushes.  Growing up in the country, I have heard this before.  I believe it was a Deer of sorts, but…I’m not so sure.  I never saw it.  I started to really feel uncomfortable.  Luckily at that point another runner going the opposite direction passed by and said Hi!   I started to feel a little bit more comfortable.

Mile 3 was much better than mile two…and then mile 4 was also alright.  Mile 5 for some odd reason was horrific. It is almost all DOWNHILL.

I probably looked a bit like this:

I could not get my legs moving at any sort of speed.

Eventually I started to do the Galloway thing 2-3 mins running 30 sec to a full minute of walking.  Not fun.

I’m a bit concerned about my speed, or lack there of.  Its related to many things:  Heat, my 8 lb weight gain.. yeah..not pretty, and maybe the general lack of fitness…though I have been doing some fairly steady workouts…

Well, onward to next week.  I’ll post up my plan for next week in a few hours.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Susan

    We call the noise in the bushes “the Chupacabra”, a mythical creature that eats livestock. It would eat me too, but I try to run past it at a good clip so as to avoid become a victim. 😉

  2. Oooh I need to go google the Chupacabra! that must have been it. I do think since it was rustling around in the wildlife preserve, well… I hope it was a loud deer, not an alligator.

Leave a Reply

