30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

McGuyver?

My shoes are again wearing out.

They are the ones in the background here on this blog.

I really like my shoes.  I never thought I’d be a Saucony gal, but they really do work for me.

Yes, shoes wear out, but mine seem to be wearing at an outstanding pace.

Here’s a little background on the shoes in question.

I’ve tried a few other styles of shoes after realising that the shoes are just going to wear fast.

I finally bought a pair of Brooks Pure Cadence.  They are an improvement from the last time I tried a pair of Brooks, but I have not found myself able to run in them for long times.  They are really just too soft feeling. Like running on marshmallows.

So I went back to the Saucony.

The Mirage was being phased out.  I bought multiple pairs on sale from Holabird sports.  I really recommend Holabird, they ship quick.  Now I am down to 3 pairs. I can not find any pairs anywhere in my size.  There is a Mirage 2, but…I am not 100% sure I will like it, and I don’t want to try it until I have some time to try it out, not while I’m trying to get this Marathon done.

Given how fast they are wearing, this may or may not be enough to get me through the next 6 months.  I’ve been getting about 2 months out of each pair.  But as my training progresses, so will my miles, and thus the wear is going to be a bit faster.

The problem is that the sole of the Mirage is all EVA  There is none of the black “rubber”  sole that wears a bit longer. It makes the shoe super light, but….

So I was thinking of invoking MacGuyver.

And sticking these babies on the bottom of the shoes to see if I could delay the wear…

 

I spoke to my very special Physical Therapist…who was a little bemused.  He was first very very surprised that they shoes had worn as much as they had.  Then he worried that I’d be slipping since sometimes these stick on things are sort of gritty like emery boards.  So…still thinking if I want to try it out.

Dear Saucony…I do love your shoes!  Would it kill you to add a bit of the black blown rubber to the soles?  It sure would make me dee-lighted!

2 Comments

  1. Susan

    This is funny to me, because I was stuck in the same shoe for 10 years! I have a narrow foot, so distance/neutral/narrow shoes don’t come around every day. But then, a couple of weeks ago, I couldn’t find my shoe ANYWHERE. Not at my running store, not at NIKE, no where! Switched to a New Balance, and the aches and pains I’d been tooting around with for months all went away! At first I was ticked, because they aren’t near as cushiony, but it’s a small price to pay. HAPPY-HAPPY-JOY-JOY!

  2. I’ve been counseled against it. i can apparently still get a pair of very very ugly black and pink Mirages from the Saucony website for 65.00. I’m holding off because the color is *that bad*! Glad that you found a new shoe that worked for you. I’m so surprised that through all the changes a shoe goes through in 10 years that you never had issues. I also have a very narrow foot…I’ve found usually the Japanese brands to do better for stereotypical reasons…but the mirage has served me really well this year.

Leave a Reply

