30 weeks of Marathon training.

just a spot to write about the next 30 weeks….of running.

Training mis-step

I’m really into the Olympics.  I love love love it.  I will watch almost anything.  I am learning that I am not  a fan of Olympic Basketball though.  But really, I watched Judo the other day.  I have no idea what they were doing, kind of grappling with each other, but it was the Olympics!

So, what do the Olympics have to do with me, and the Tallahassee Marathon?

Well, not too much.

I decided I really want to stay up and watch the coverage tonight.

If I stay up and watch the coverage, I will have trouble getting up at 4:30 am.

If I have trouble getting up, I might not run well, or I might forget to get up.

So thus, the logical thing to do of course- was to wear compression sleeves all day long.  (I like the ones from zensah!)

 

And to do a 3 mile run in the 84 degree heat.

Well.  It FELT cooler.  yeah.

I ran a slightly different route, I could not bear to run the loopies when it would be witnessed by awake people.  it is no problem to run the hilly route, again and again, I don’t know why but it does not bother me.  But..the idea of doing it with an audience..not so great.  So I ran an old route which is not that great mostly because the first mile is up and down, the second mostly down hill, and then coming back, well mostly uphill.  The only nice thing I have to say about this run…is that I saw a trio of Sandhill cranes…

Otherwise, it was Hot, my legs were super sore, and well, it was slower than I would have liked.

Yes, there are some benefits to running on tired legs.  And I will say after mile one, my legs did feel like the tail end of a Marathon or half.  So maybe it was to my benefit.  I think…the truth is that I could have used a rest day.

Tomorrow.  No running.  Some easy cycling, and some strength work…I have to keep that up no matter what or I will be howling in pain!

 

1 Comment

  1. Commenting on my own post. Quite grumpy now. It *IS* way cooler NOW. I should have waited 3 more hours. ANd I am sore…going to be a tough go tomorrow. I’ll try not to make this mis-step again. I have to admit though, I am pleased that my body, especially the hip, seems to be holding up pretty well to all my Mistakes. Massage Thursday night. I can not wait.

Leave a Reply

